All About Eve (1950)

Posted: October 28, 2012 in Classics
Tags: , , , , ,

Tonight
I opened my fortune cookie in the dark
My eyes, grander than most, waited to adjust
To words that never appeared

I act
I act and I perform
And they remember my eyes
That see dark fortunes and futures and victories
Maudlin and full of self-pity
Magnificent, he called me
They witness the destruction of myself
Punishing my body for its age
Aged in Wood

The futures all surrounded me tonight
Snakes at home in the grass of the theatre
As talentless beauty still succeeds
Girls of material and ambition
Blonde and ageless
Evil in their love
Evil…
Eve…

“Swift as a shadow, short as any dream;
Brief as the lightning in the collied night.”

I still remember…

The flawless line of a playwright
Dead for 300 years
Tonight a situation pregnant with possibilities
And all he could think of is everybody
Go to bed

They’ll rest
That material girls
Try to learn so adamantly
For the sphere of the stage
My stage

And Eve
I creak as I bow yet
She hands me weights
Wrapped in well-wishes
They too read their
Fortunes in the dark

“Lovers, to bed, ’tis almost fairy time”

I still
Remember…

Slow

Curtain

The
End

Academy Awards for All About Eve (1951): Best Picture; Best Director; Best Actor in a Supporting Role; Best Writing, Screenplay; Best Costume Design, Black-and-White; Best Sound, Recording (2)

Add All About Eve to your queue.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    It took a few readings to really understand what you wrote – creative work, beautifully done! Keep up the good work.

    Like

  2. M. says:

    When I closed my eyes to read it the second time, I SAW Davis. Just beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

